How-to Setup a Managed Switch

In yesterday’s post I mentioned that I switched a switch.  I replaced a 24-port switch with a 48-port switch, and went from an HP to a Netgear switch, both managed.

So I can remember what I did, here are the steps I took to setup my switch:

1.  Plug in the modem cable that came with the switch to a computer on-site and the switch console port.

2.  Plug in power adapter.

3.  Connect to the switch via HyperTerminal if using Windows XP, if using Vista, you will have to download a terminal emulation program.  In HyperTerminal setup a new connection with the following settings:

  • Baud rate – 9,600 bps
  • Data bits – 8
  • Parity – none
  • Stop bit – 1
  • Flow control – none

4.  Typed in user and put in the values given.  Then typed ezconfig.

5.  I setup the network parameters, giving the switch its network address.

6.  Logged out of HyperTerminal and logged into the switch via the web to finish the configuration.

2 Comments »

  1. music Said:

    very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

  2. I never thought of it that way, well put!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

