Desktop and Laptop Specs for Home Users

Many of my aquaintences are buying laptops and desktop computers for their kids andLaptop spouses for the holidays.  I am constantly being asked what I recommend, so I thought I would recreate my specs here and then just refer them to the site.

 Let me start by saying that I recommend Dells over all other computers.  The reason is simple, support!  They have the best support I have encountered, and that goes for business sales and personal sales as well.  They stand behind their product and that means something to me.  And by the way, I am not getting any commissions from them.

For a laptop I recommend at least the following specificications: 

Processor:  A Dual core of at least 1.6 or higher

Memory:  1 GB

HardDrive:  160GB

Wireless:  802.11 a/b/g/n

For a desktop, I recommend the following:

Processor:  Intel Core 2 Duo E4500 (2.20GHz)

Memory:  2 GB

HardDrive:  320GB

Graphics Card:  Best you can afford

These are just what I would look for if I were buying one for myself.  Many of the stores are running fantastic deals right now, so certainly shop around and look for the highest specs for the lowest price, but processing speed and memory are key for almost all users, so don’t be cheap in those areas.

1 Comment »

  1. Thanks for information.
    many interesting things
    Celpjefscylc


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

