Moving Over – DBA

The progression of my IT career has been awkward, strange, and amusing altogether. I find myself now transitioning from doing mostly desktop support and user administration along with network support to full blown DBA.  Given, I am starting small with a few fairly complex Access Databases, but the company has big plans to move those all to SQL and web applications. YIKES!

So, here I go again on my own. . .jumping into Access, VBA, SQL and .NET, it sure is a good thing I like to learn, teach myself and go through trials by fire!  I am trying to start slow. . but am already getting questions and having to fix things. . .surely this is madness and there are more “traditional” ways to advance my career?!  “Thank you sir, may I have another” seems to me by MO.

If anyone has any great learning resources or recommendations on any or all of the above, please feel free to share!

2 Comments »

  1. Ken Said:

    came across your site looking for the MSXML fix. Thanks for that! Good luck wth the DBA direction. I added DBA and .NET programmer to my Sys Admin/Network Admin roles a few years back. Keep in mind, Stored Procedures are your friend!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

