A New Plan

It’s been a long strange road for me, my tech career.  I have taken some odd turns, made mistakes that change the trajectory of my course, and find myself today making a whole new 5 year plan that has me excited about my career for the first time in several years.  I will share that plan next week I think.  What I need to do here real quick is to jot down the key to my change so I don’t forget how and why I got here.

For a long time I have been trying to convince myself that I don’t belong here in the tech world.  I have wasted so much time trying to find a passion outside of tech.  I looked at writing, cooking, sewing, teaching, motor sports, entrepreneurship and house wifery (I made that up, don’t judge).  Nothing was a good fit and I just couldn’t get into any of them.  Finally, at a complete dead end, almost in tears and ready to just quit everything, I finally started looking at tech and trying some things just to see if anything fit.  And guess what, it did.  I started learning Python quite by accident and realized I love it!  I like to code.

I think I convinced myself early on that I could never code mainly based on my interactions early in my career with some folks I considered to be smart coders.  Looking back, I think they were hacks, and certainly awful people, but I allowed a couple of bad eggs to ruin my entire perspective.  I have spent so many wasted years running, it is time to stop, dig, and put down roots.  I have to take a breath, relax, and start learning.  My posts over the next few months will most likely be about the new classes I’m taking and all that I am learning.

Leave a Reply

