It Really Is the Small Things

csvfileI spent a really dumb amount of time today trying to write a Python script to do what I could have done in minutes in Excel.  I created a .csv file with the header and rows populated.  It is a small thing, but I struggled, and the data I was sending wouldn’t go at fist, so I had to figure out why what worked for one type of data didn’t work for another.  Turns out, I just needed quotes.  But the point really is that I didn’t give up , I kept at it, and I finally accomplished this stupid small task!

I have so far to go it is hard to imagine ever being proficient, but then again, a week ago I wouldn’t have believed I could write a script that created and populated a spreadsheet!  All progress counts, right?

I want to remember today and that I can do it!  I am not dumb, and I can work through problems and come up with solutions.  I could have asked for help like I usually do, but instead, I can go back through what I know and see if the answer isn’t there somewhere after all.  I can code, and I can do this!  I am still working through Learn Python the Hard Way, but I am also working through a couple of other classes too and all together I feel like I am finally getting somewhere, after a good month of hacking away.

Leave a Reply

